Window Shopping

On Stonegate

Shops spring up all the time in York – they come and they go.  It’s amazing what sort of shops make a go of it and others who you would think would be  popular just go out of business.  One of the most famous streets in York is Stonegate.  I love this street, not only has it got a great pub (Ye Olde Starre Inne), it also home to the haunted house (very strange place which I wrote about last year).

white stuff window

One of the shops which caught my eye is White Stuff.  This is a clothes shop.  The most interesting thing about this shop is that it has its own cinema! plus its own little bar.  Unfortunately I only found this out after looking for information.  I was very much  taken with the window display. 

Budgie detail

Budgies as a theme are I suppose unusual, but I just loved the way this display was done.   Large printed cardboard budgies with mirrors and millet and feathers all over the floor!

'Bend it like Peckham' window detail

They could have used sandpaper for the bottom of the ‘cage’ (window) but they had a much cleverer idea.  They put newspaper down.  It’s not any old newspaper though.  Someone has  gone to a lot of trouble to invent news stories and headlines featuring………. budgies!

bottle shop window

Here’s another shop that’s either sprung up lately – or we hadn’t noticed it.  This bottle shop is a veritable wonderland of beer.  I have never seen so many different beers under one roof before.   Not only is the window packed with them but there are two whole rooms of different bottles!

Little Bettys

Not a very good picture but, Little Betty’s window display on the same street also stood out.  Among the chocolate rabbits and easter eggs is a chocolate badger in milk and dark chocolate.  Makes a change from the usual bunnies.

mad March hares

Seeing that I have already featured March hares, white rabbits and Alice in Wonderland, I just had to get a picture of these prancing acrobatic ceramic hares frolicking in a shop window – delightful!

Bettys Cafe tearoom

White Stuff article

9 Responses to “Window Shopping”

  1. Ah, memories,
    is the wheel still there?

  2. Sorry, I didn’t see any wheel K. Went in the Guy Fawkes for the first time – amazing gaslit pub!

  3. Wish I could go, but too far. Loved this post, though. Read your haunted house visit and am always fascinated about the fact that some people can sense the energies within a place and others sensitivities have become so dulled they can’t feel a thing, good or bad. Oh well.
    Yhanks for the feature about the budgie window. Truly interesting! I loved the hare window, too. I just finished a painting with a warren of rabbits in it. Mine are roly-poly compared to these. Great post, Lynda!

  4. Thanks Leslie, I do hope you get to go some day, it’s full of history. Glad you enjoyed the haunted house at stonegate. The table in there filled the whole room – I was genuinly frightened in there, yet the cellar wasn’t too bad. I will have a look at your mad March Hares Leslie – they are bound to be good! I love window displays that are quirky and fun. Thanks for visiting and commenting – I really appreciate it!

  5. very much alive description… very easy to visualize… great work… wish to look forward… & wanna chk the older posts…. gr8 work…..

    visit mine and post ur comments… i think u’ll like it

  6. I’ve just been over to yours to see them – gorgeous little creatures – so cute and very thoughtfully executed!

Leave a Reply

