Sex, Drugs and Literature: Branwell Bronte Gets his Place in the Sun at Last!

Branwell Bronte self portait warts and all
Branwell Bronte self portait warts and all

Great!  Finally an exhibition that focuses on Branwell Bronte!  Poor old Branwell, the eternal Black Sheep of the Bronte family.  I have always felt that he has been much maligned, not helped by himself I may add.  This article puts it so succinctly when it points out the expectations and burden placed on the only son of the family.  For the highly strung Branwell proved too much and he collapsed under the strain.  It’s not as if he didn’t have the talent: it was the fortitude and determination he lacked.  That makes him very human in my opinion and for that reason he will always remain my favorite Bronte (along with the more controlled Charlotte).

wuthering-heights ITV 2009 I saw these costumes at the Bronte parsonage museum  a few months ago
wuthering-heights ITV 2009 I saw these costumes at the Bronte parsonage museum a few months ago

 

In actual fact, I am having a bit of a Bronte week!  Not only do I spot this exhibition at the Bronte Parsonage Museum, Haworth  (that I intend to go to…this week if I can), but we have a made for television version (ITV) of ‘Wuthering Heights (first part shown yesterday and second tonight).  Then…an exciting development on the ‘Will the REAL Charlotte Bronte Please stand up’ front!!!  Intrigued?  Reader you will be!

Branwell Bronte Exibition ‘Sex Drugs and Literature’ – The Infernal World of Branwell Bronte’ article HERE

Details from the Bronte Parsonage Museum HERE

One thought on “Sex, Drugs and Literature: Branwell Bronte Gets his Place in the Sun at Last!

  1. Poor Branwell–I saw that exhibit when I was in Haworth, and he really did have more than his share of demons. I particularly liked the little shrine the Black Bull made of his chair 🙂

    BTW, once again, I have nominated your wonderful blog for an award…this time the Zombie Chicken Award…there’s probably a Zombie Chicken teapot out there somewhere that you will find, post, and astound me with. Again, kudos on an excellent blog.

Leave a comment