Christmas Greetings!

The first Christmas card was commissioned by Henry Cole in 1843, London.  The image  can be found on this video – see if you can spot it.  Early Christmas cards were rarely religious, the focus was fairies, flowers and the approach of Spring.  Cards could be sentimental featuring humour and children. I  have started the video with some religious paintings which can be seen nowadays on Christmas cards.  The cards I have chosen are an eclectic mix of sentimental, humourous, wintery ,nostalgic and Jolly – just like Christmas should be.  This is an early attempt at making  a YouTube video.  Expect more (hopefully better:-))

The music
Prokofiev’s Winter Fairy (from Cinderella), performed by Caela Harrison from here

The credits are many;

coolcatsblog operationletter bekati leepowelldesign clipartandcraft colourbakery  quickstep frostysclub  beliefnet faripop confarta
Lovely vintage cards here  here here  here and here also here and here
24 Responses to “Christmas Greetings!”

  1. Lovely, Lynda! I think the Kindly Robins were my favorite until we got to the porcine section…and the Woodie was a good one too. My pick for first card were the people in what looked like a theatre box, but that’s just a guess.

    Nicely done–one of my resolutions for the new year is to learn how to make and post videos.

    Merry Christmas and best wishes for a wonderful 2011!

    • Thanks Jane! You were right, the first Christmas card – the theatre box people! I really like the ones with just a few colours in towards the end, I find the simplicity charming – proably done between the Wars
      The videos are not as hard as you’d think. Hubby taught me how to do it. though..
      Happy Christmas to you and yours too! 🙂

  2. Happy Christmas, Lynda. Thanks for all the wonderful posts during the year. Ann

  3. Thanks for linking my post. Enjoyed your other links, too.

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Nice job, Lynda, for your first video attempt. Some strange images there of PIGS. HMMMM. I would never have guessed about those at all.

  5. artistatexit0 Says:

    Nice video Lynda! I liked many of the earlier designs set in a natural landscape…but the pig couple takes the cake! Merry Christmas to you and your family!!

  6. The pig family probably do take the cake – literally 😀 Talk about going the whole hog! I’ll stop with these puns whilst I’m ahead lol Happy Christmas and best wishes for a spectacular New Year to you and yours 🙂

  7. I like this Lynda.
    The music is very relevant to this slide show.
    Cheerful yet a bit haunting which i find is how these images look in many respects

  8. Thanks K! I found it hard choosing the music. So far I’ve stuck to classical – all that can change though…. 😀

  9. I had no idea what the oldest one was, but the pig couple is kind of creepy. What a wonderful post for Christmas. I loved seeing them. Happy Holidays, Lynda!

  10. Thanks for sharing beautiful things all throughout the year!
    Merry Christmas to you, everyday!
    🙂

  11. Thanks bendedspoon! And thank you both for visiting and for a fun and up;ifting blog! Happy Holidays to you too!

  12. Whoops! A bit late getting here – like a Xmas card lost in the post – Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year, Lynda!!
    Hope you keep blogging in 2011, I do enjoy your two sites.

  13. The kindly robins are my fave, too, though the little chap on the far right looks a bit scrawny! Obviously didn’t eat enough wormblies!
    😉

    As my commet is a bit late, I’m wishing you a happy New Year.

  14. Aye, worms seem to have been thin on the ground those days 🙂
    Happy New Year to you too Val!

Leave a Reply

