Going going GONE

just one of the many mags I used to collect

I’ve been busy having a huge clear out at the moment.  I was amazed at  just how much rubbish I had held on to.  Of course it’s not all rubbish.  A lot of it is of sentimental value, like a tiny baby dress that belonged to our daughter,  holiday mementos, ornaments.  I have a lot of clothes that are now retro they are so old:) .  I can’t believe how tiny some of the belts were that I found.  Just another reminder of a middle age which I don’t even remember joining.  Perhaps someone enrolled me whilst I wasn’t looking:)

Sunburst mirror

I threw a LOT of home magazines away, lot and lots and lots went to the recycling plant to be recycled. I would like to think that perhaps some of them might be recycled into designs like this beautiful sunburst mirror.  If I had more time on my hands, perhaps I could have created a shelf like Sean Miller from Seattle who pasted this magazines together with cornstarch, left them to dry and harden under pressure, then carved out this shelf using a bandsaw!  

Sean Miller recycled bookshelf

 

Mirror available from here shelf info from here, Period Living image here

6 Responses to “Going going GONE”

  1. artistatexit0 Says:

    I fear the day that I need to start down-sizing all the junk/treasure I have accumulated. It’s just such a graphic reminder that we just don’t need this much in material possessions. I had a funny thought about how the recycled magazine shelf illustrated in your post will one day be retro too! The day of the antique bean bag chair has arrived.

  2. Junk/treasure 🙂 There’s so many things which we save for a purpose, but then can’t remember what that purpose was! It always seems to me, that as soon as I get rid of something – the very next week I will actually need it….
    recycled retro! You could well be on to something Al:)

  3. I am constantly de-cluttering and recycling. Just when I think I am caught up, It’s time again. Sometimes I just remind myself that I need to use and re-use what I have. Love the shelf made from magazines that you have posted. Years ago, I made the base to a coffee table from empty pepsi cans and epoxy. We had a piece of glass cut for the top. I think that went in a garage sale, finally.

    • Well at least you know that it was recycled again Leslie and it’s probably still going strong somewhere:) My mother used to make rag rugs out of all the old woolens. I just wish I had the time:)

  4. I dont really develop much clutter except for thousands of pieces of scrap paper with half done poems and song lyrics and other forms of nonsense .lol
    But i seem to remember this conversation before. lol

    • hehehyes:) now creative ‘clutter’ is the best type of clutter:) Don’t forget to let me know what time you will be launching on 27th so I can link! I can’t wait!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

