Weird and Wacky Design – Strange Vessels

  

lei xue

 

As anyone who reads this blog knows by now, I like unusually designed objects – preferably made from unusual media.   So I was intrigued to discover these beer cans made from china!  These exquisite Chinese porcelain vessels – have even been crushed to resemble aluminium beer cans.  But who in their right mind would want to throw these away (though you could recycle the porcelain).  Made by  artist Lei Xue, these cans are actually teacups!  

celtic-skull-vessel

 

This Celtic skull vessel is rather unusual.  Adorned with Celtic knot work, the top of the skull comes off and there is an inner compartment which you can fill ….with whatever.  I wonder where this idea came from?  Did the Celts drink from real skulls?  From  here 

Ed Kirsner Corning Store Four

There’s a gallery of breathtaking glass vessels here.   A wonderful glass collection from Kentucky artists.  this one is by artist Ken quite transfixed me.  It looks like a strange exotic conjuring trick, full of esoteric magic.  I would never get tired of gazing upon it. 

Beer can pic from here 

8 Responses to “Weird and Wacky Design – Strange Vessels”

  1. these are all so cool.
    I like the skull piece

  2. Yeah I like that, I can think of lots of things to put in that vessel too:)

  3. artistatexit0 Says:

    Thanks for highlighting the Kentucky glass connections. Louisville just played host to the Glass Art Society’s conference two weeks a go, but we still have about twenty or so glass exhibitions up at the moment. The studio art program I direct for adults with developmental disabilities is one of them. To see some of those pieces go to this link:
    http://studio633.wordpress.com/ Thanks Lynda…those faux porcelain beer cans look great!

  4. There’s some lovely work on that site Al – thanks! The glass paltes in particular are beautiful! Fancy you having a connection with this – it’s a small world eh!!!:)

  5. I really like the glass thingy. The way it is done, I envision it twirling.

  6. Gorgeous Leslie – it’s almost ‘moving’ very effective indeed!

  7. opoetoo Says:

    I like them all but the beer cans are way cool.
    For one thing just the idea is marvelous but then the things are beautiful too.
    I love this post!

    • Thanks opoetoo! I can’t remember what they sold for, but it was quite a lot of money, – I think they’re lovely tto! I like the way the artist has turned the mundane into works of art. Thanks for visiting – appreciated!

Leave a Reply

