Modigliani sculpture – fetches a fortune

Tete by Modigliani

Amedeo Modigliani is primarily known as a  painter. He is known to have produced about 27 pieces of sculpture though.  The latest piece to be sold is a 65cm sculpture, made of Limestone and called ‘Tete’ has snapped up at a Paris auction for a mere 43.2 Million!

The sculpture was from the GastonLevy collection.  He acquired it in 1927.   The artist took up sculpture due to ill health apparently, though I would think sculpture was more hazardous to the lungs and health than paint, due to the dust involved. The sculpture was first seen at the Salon d’Automne exhibition in Paris in 1912. 

The auction

It’s always useful to see the scale of these types of sculptures for me as I am hopeless at metric measurements:) imperial yes, I can understand – but not metric for some reason – probably too much conditioning.

I would say that his sculptures follow in the elongated style of his paintings and also have the Picasso mask like  influences of Les Demoiselles d’Avignon .

going going gone

Modigliani had a short (1884 -1920) and turbulent life.  His life as an artist is stereotypical of the romantic misunderstood, starving in a garret and railing against the world kind of artist we love, like Van Gogh.   Sadly Modigliani  only lived until he was  35  and died of Tuberculosis.

Tete image from here and here

Modigliani short biography here

6 Responses to “Modigliani sculpture – fetches a fortune”

  1. how does art get to be this expensive?
    Lol.
    It is an awesome sculpture though

  2. I know, that kind of money is obscene isn’t it, can’t even imagine it. I do really like the sculpture too – a bit Easter Island don’t you think? (:))

  3. artistatexit0 Says:

    In this case, price is equated with rarity and the artist’s turbulent career and unhappy life. I believe I read somewhere that he eventually threw many of his sculptures into the river. Whether that is fact or myth? I don’t know about you…but if you have this much money to spend on a single art object than you have too much money. You could endow so many art programs and artists with that sum and actually see the benefit. Perhaps a future artist of Modigliani’s stature would emerge?

  4. Very good point Al – far toooooooo much money! If the story is true about the river…..do you know if he happened to get to the US? 🙂 You might get lucky one day near that river 🙂
    as for rarity and turbulent career and unhappy life equalling money….I should be worth a fortune then 😀 perhaps my life hasn’t been unhappy enough though!
    Like you say opportunities for artistic enrichment (not to mention poverty) missed through misuse of money. Sad

  5. I think it is interesting that there is money in volumes to purchase works of art such as this beauty. May I be so bold as to say that I have enjoyed this but also some of the art my fellow bloggers have created! Wrap my eyes and soul around the images that keep coming forth because tomorrow they may be gone. Thank-you for this, Lynda.

  6. This money must grow on trees Leslie:) Glad you enjoyed this – many more to come (I hope) 🙂

Leave a Reply

