Lego Art forms

 

? with a pearl earring - a bit of fun with Lego

When I was young, Lego bricks were used to build buildings and pieces of architecture.  You wouldn’t think that a tiny plastic  brick would have a whole land named after it now, nor predict the  interesting possibilities the molecular little fellow would throw up.  I don’t know if Lego is the right media to translate these works of art though.  Surely the importance of the expression of the Girl with a Pearl Earring is one of the paintings remarkable expressive and enigmatic qualities, not to mention the light in the painting.   So I’m not sure that this works at all…..  More Lego art from here

Hawking

However, I do think the Stephen Hawking image works remarkable well, I especially like the tilt of the head.  It’s amazing how slight gestures and nuances can unlock an image.  The ‘clues’ are always there  if we just look for them properly.  I do think that Lego as mosaic is very successful and comes into its own by being used in a 2 dimensional way.  The Lego takes on pixellated qualities.  There’s more of these here

more uses for lego

more uses for lego

Lego bricks are quite effective when they are being used to build sculpture.  this art piece by Nathan Sawaya reminds me very much of one of Yves Klein’s models – rolling in YKB paint!

Nathan Sawaya

Steven Hawking ego image from here

Nathan Sawaya from here

6 Responses to “Lego Art forms”

  1. artistatexit0 Says:

    Remind me again…is it DNA or Legos that are “the building blocks of life”?

  2. thanks for these, I always love seeing ways people can make those little blocks of plastic look so darn expressive!

  3. hard to believe that Lego is still popular isn’t it Lynsey? At least people are doing something a bit different with those little bricks other than making buildings with them. I’m quite taken with the mosaic 🙂

  4. Ha! used to love Legos when I was younger. A Steven Hawking Lego figure—very cool. The pixellated quailty of Speed Racer is my other favorite. thanks

  5. Who would have thought Lego had so many possibilities Adam! makes me want to go and buy some…not for myself of course (:D)

Leave a Reply

