Masked

 
 

Beautiful Scaramouche mask

There’s something thrilling about the wearing of masks: mysterious and glamorous.  The artist James Ensor (whom I recently wrote about) incorporated them into his paintings.  The Phantom of the Opera, Zorro, Batman and Robin, and the ancient Sybils of Rome all wore masks.  But the place which is synonymous with mask wearing is of course Venice.

 
 

The phantom

I went to Venice once, many years ago.  The shops were awash with masks.  Masks of every shape and size and made from all different types of materials, including leather.  I still have the pair of ceramic mask earings – a reminder of that trip.

Carnival dressing up

The Venetian masks are a many centuries old tradition – mostly worn during the Carnival of Venice.  Wearing them  allowed the wearer to mix  and act freely with others without social barriers (and sometimes without etiquette!)

 
 

Just one of the many masks from the Mask Society

This beautiful video shows a huge variety of masks.  the music is by Guisseppe Nabucodonosor ‘The Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves’

 Youtube feature by  juliane852

Scaramouche mask from here

The Venetian Mask Society here plenty of gorgeous masks here

Film by juliane8part2

8 Responses to “Masked”

  1. A real interesting style.

  2. I’d give anything for just one of these!

  3. jadepaloma Says:

    I love both masks and James Ensor. My favorite one is Strange Masks. He’s beyond cool! Not to speak of Venice and the carnival… there’s something so erotic about it, dear Lord…

    • I’ve done a post about Ensor somewhere (maybe ;Birthdays’). When we went many years ago everyone was getting ready for the carnival, but we had to leave. My late father went and got his first glimpse at night – must have been magical to just across it like that. Dreamy place – hope we both get to go there again Jadepaloma:)

  4. artistatexit0 Says:

    Was it Pietro Longhi who did all those masked courtier paintings back in the day? I think masks are one reason Halloween is so popular on this side of the Atlantic. Nice post Linda!

  5. These masks are stunning. I really enjoy your blog – it’s such a refreshing and welcomed creative change from my daily dealings. The last time I wrote about masks was for a client and “unmasking the superficial CEO” in terms of the ‘boss act’ many heads put on!! Thanks for the breathe of inspiration to my days.

  6. No, – Thank YOU Kimberley for reading my blog 🙂 I enjoy reading what you get up to too, though its very different to my blog – which reminds me, I haven’t blogrolled you (which I will do now) 🙂

Leave a Reply

