Pen and Inklings

lovely pen and ink

There’s something about pen and ink that makes it very satisfying to use.  I love pens, but they have to have black ink.  Not blue, blue will not do – don’t ask me why, I just don’t know.

The mark of ink on paper is a thing of beauty to me.  Whenever I get a new journal or writing book I never write on the first page.  Again, I don’t really know why.  Perhaps I don’t want to make a mistake.  I have been known to even start writing at the back of the book – which is probably taking things a bit too far.

this was considered grown up ink by me

I love ink, I love the thick fluid quality of it.  In particular I like indian ink, this contains shellac which makes it good to mix with different media for art work.  We were taught to use fountain pens years ago and practise our handwriting.  I always start very neatly when I’m writing then it all goes haphazard as I speed up!

late 19th century ink bottle

I have some old ink bottles like this and also some old adverts for ink.   I even have a tile over my sink with Stephens ink on.  Of course there has been many mishaps regarding ink.  It’s terrible to get out of clothing.  Milk used to be a kind of remedy for this, but I’m not sure it works on Indian ink.

Stephens ink advert

Of course ink can be used to great effect by drawing with it.  I came across the artist  Kevin’Chopper’ Peshkepia the other day.  Not only are his paintings wonderfully expressive  – so are his pen and ink drawings.  I urge you to visit his site and look at his series ‘Bukowski and the Beats’.  They captivated me!

Ginsberg on Campus 1

Talking of pen and ink – heres my latest Haiku – called ‘elementals’, nice video at the end!

Peshkepia website here

pen and ink image here

Great old adverts here

6 Responses to “Pen and Inklings”

  1. they are really good.
    especially the ink ones

  2. Yes I fancy a go with the old pen and ink myself – glad you like his art K. Thanks for commenting!

  3. I like ink.also, Lynda. Thanks for the link to some very cool art!

  4. Glad you enjoyed it Leslie! so do I, like the quality of that liquid. White ink is a good ink to have – makes a ghostly wash. Thanks for commenting Leslie, it’s always appreciated!

  5. hey Lynda i couldn’t agree more! When My daughter asked what I wanted for my last birthday I asked for a fountain pen. Then we had to buy black ink because it came with blue which, a you say, wouldn’t do!

  6. It’s strange isn’t it? I don’t know what it is, but black ink on crisp white paper looks so ‘authentic’ ‘real’ in some way. And this is coming from someone who LOVES colour!

Leave a Reply

