‘Christmas an anti climax?’

my lovely snow boots which I can't wait to try out!

After a huge Christmas dinner, it has been decided (the same as every year) that I MUST go on a diet in the New Year.  In fact this always becomes a resolution that doesn’t take long for me to rebel against.  One of my Christmas presents was a pair of snow boots! What a coincidence that I was writing about slipping and sliding in the snow only the other day!  Of course the snow is now melting………..

I don’t believe it (said in a slightly slurred Victor Meldrew voice) who? see above.  Someone who shall remain nameless bought me  the ‘Mr Darcy Vampire’ book!  Now I shall have to read it when I’ve finished ‘Branwell Bronte’s Barber’s tale’ by Chris Firth, which is going down very well with me and which I’m nearly halfway through.  But at the moment 8PM Christmas day when I’m writing this, I am recycling all the leftover veg into a tasty and nourishing soup (hopefully)

Mr Darcy Vampire 'He a beauty? I'd soon as call his mother a wit'

 

It’s been a lovely Christmas day and I’m now relaxing with a drink or two.  In fact I have been so good today booze wise – just a couple of sips of wine with dinner and a couple of vodkas and cokes.  Boxing day to look forward to now and then it’s all over.  So much preparation for such a short time.  Why do we do it?   Because it wouldn’t be Christmas without all the hassle?  The run up to the main event is much longer than the actual event itself, it’s making Christmas an actual anti climax.

 

3 Responses to “‘Christmas an anti climax?’”

  1. An anti-climax is described elswhere as ‘A decline viewed in disappointing contrast with a previous rise’ ….. in reality Christmas this year is not so much a low after the high but more a low after the low….. I’m not sure I’ll ‘do’ Christmas the same next year so to save the ‘anti-climax’ bit. I’m going to make Christmas in July when the hot (yes I did mean it) UK weather will make things less of an anti-climax and more of a pre-climax to Christmas next year.. I’m confused now, I thought I knew but its all an anti-climax!

  2. Hi Essex Locky – a low after the low just about sums it up. It’s depressing just how many people are getting fed up with the lead up to Christmas (well, depessing and yet in a strange way comforting to know you are not on your own with these feelings. I have a feeling that Christmas may be phased out. This would be a shame, but it has become just too commercial and mostly about debt, money and greed (says I, on my 3rd mince pie). The original message is getting lost or distorted.
    Good luck with your blog – you’ve done a lot since Christmas day – I’ll keep reading!
    kind regards and a Happy New Year
    Lynda

  3. Lynda…. talking of excess, well you did but I thought I’d follow with my own admissions of guilt – I downed a whole bottle of Italian red Pinot myself, a small packet of chocolate coated raisins, four mince pies (yes you read correct), a small Christmas pudding and then finally nailed it with that nasty German stuff you heat up on the gas with alcohol in it! Mind you I slept very well and the feelings of contentment had overtaken any other cravings that may have been around.

    Thanks for the comments re my blog, have a great new year and try to cut down on the excesses… they are very bad for you!

    Graham

Leave a Reply

