Expanding Text and Magical Imagery

my problems are magnified

When I answer a comment, it comes as a very unwelcome surprise to see some of my posts now in HUGE format!  I have been having this problem from time to time, the formatting  just goes haywire (even if I use the smallest possible size – the print  just comes out  HUGE).   So when I spot this, I try to rectify it  if I can.

I noticed this had happened with my John Cooper Clarke post, still don’t know why and have changed it as best as I can.  This also drew my attention to what good fun poetry can be.  I used to write loads of poetry – lots of it very pretentious and flowery, lol!  I was into Tyrannosaurus Rex at the time (NOT T. Rex I might add – the previous band).  I just loved the way Bolan used words for their own sake.  I tried to derive meanings from these poems, but of course they didn’t really have any meaning, they were just – well, beautiful and magical:

A cobra seer with punctured ear, slaughtered a Malayan Sunbear

Night stands erect with bronzen haunches

Zapped the seer and gave the bear back to us

Salamanda Palaganda

Palomino blue

Salamanda Palaganda

June’s buffalo too

In th Parisian  Zoo

Now, I quite like the sound of the seer with punctured ear and the night standing erect on bronzen haunches, conjures up quite a picture.  How about this one (called Consuela)

Consuela, Lady tailor

Weaving deep beneath the sun,

Making things for everything that runs run

Hermitised one  you’re my little summer maid

Orchard eyed one take my love

love love

Consuela, lady tailor

Weaving deep beneath the moon

Quiver mouth casts a crooning moon rune

etc

You can almost see the workings of Bolan’s  word association with this: croon  (crone) hence the quivering mouth.  Plus the crone has to of course ‘cast’ a moon rune.  This is very much like the wyrd sisters (or the Norns, guardians of fate) from Norse Mythology who also protect the runes.  There’s a rich imagination at work amongst these lyrics.  I would always class Bolan a poet in the real sense.

Here he is  singing it with others

7 Responses to “Expanding Text and Magical Imagery”

  1. piningforthewest Says:

    You’re not going to believe this but I was a Tyrannosaurus Rex fan too. He did have a beautiful way with words. I did go on to be a huge T.Rex fan, which was actually really ‘hip’ at the time because all of my friends were into Donny Osmond and David Cassidy. I madly gave all my albums away though – before a house move I think.

  2. Shame on you! I have still got my vinyls, in much played out condition. I cried when Bolan ‘sold out’ as I saw it and it took ages to forgive him. It angered me that suddenly this ‘exclusive’ band of mine had now come up from the underground, gone mainstream and had begat millions of screaming fans! I did eventually realise that this was meant to be. Bolan was born to be celebrated and mourned by legions – he was born to be famous. This would not have happened if he’d stayed in the folky Tyrannosaurus format. I still say though, he sold out lyrically with lines like ‘wear your hair long, and you can’t go wrong’…………..lol!

  3. piningforthewest Says:

    Yes Bowie then Roxy, then I met my husband and he was into Genesis and Barclay, James, Harvest and Peter Gabriel who is brilliant live. I have 2 brothers and 2 sisters. Unfortunately I was very much an afterthought, really aftershock. By the way the Werthers thing did make me laugh, that is the only sweetie that I have ever spat out. I thought it had a good chance of outliving me.

  4. Saw Bowie on his Ziggy Stardust tour, with Mick Ronso, also saw Lou Reed on his Rock n Roll Animal (I think) tour.
    It’s beginning to sound like…’I hung around St Petersburg – Anastacia wept in vain. Pleased to meet you, hope you geuessed my name….wooo wooo!’)
    Never got into Genesis, though did venture down the Kate Bush way at one time.
    An aftershock eh lol! I take it you would not give ‘your little gwanchild’ a Werthers original then? lol! I don’t remember having ever tasted one – yet we’ve got the empty tin, funny that

  5. piningforthewest Says:

    I never forgave my mum for not letting me go to the farewell Ziggy gig in Glasgow. Maybe the Werther experience was so bad for you that you have just blocked it out. Really hoorible!

  6. Well we still got the tin…no idea where that came from. You’re talking about the Farewell tour……..I’m talking of seeing him do it on the Old Grey whilstle singing Starman and going to see him in Liverpool a few days later (yes, THAT long ago, lol!)
    AND I went by myself, no one would go with me. Did have a poster he threw into audience but that’s long disappeared. All that’s left are the memories…aw

  7. Aye the old Biriyani Ferrari eh, seen him with Roxy music too (with Eno). The last female singer I was into and still am is PJ Harvey, seen her too. We still go to concerts – not many now, say a couple a year. You gotta have music!!! I had these Foolish things too. Alas think he sounds terrible now plus that modeling for M and S….. lol!

Leave a Reply

