Brown Paper Packages tied up with String, What Would William Morris say?

Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, nor believe to be beautiful

I find writing my blog such a locupletative* experience.  I’m never really stuck for something to write about, well perhaps sometimes….   I’m always squirreling away designs, interesting websites and information.  I used to do this with fabric too.  I had loads of beautiful fabric pieces put away, always meaning to do something with them, but somehow, I couldn’t bring myself to cut them up.  I did eventually make some crazy patchwork cushion covers and a couple of patchwork quilts but I still have the more delicate stuff stashed away.

That's the spirit!

The same applies with handmade paper.  I have reams of it.  I love to look at it, I love to handle it.  I just can’t bear to cut it up.  When I have to cut it up though, I keep all the tiny bits in case they come in ‘handy’.  If I was in the War I would probably be one of those women who hoarded tins of pineapple chunks and sardines  (given my fondness for original packaging, this is not as far-fetched as it seems)

old fashioned Christmas...aw

All in all, I think I would have done OK during the War.  The black outs wouldn’t have bothered me,  this house is quite dark , in fact someone once called it a Christmas house, because it really comes into its own at Christmas.  I digress, as usual.  I’m going to have a clear out, I can feel it coming on…I am teetering on the brink of just going for it, no mercy shown, sentimentality cast aside and just getting RID of stuff! What IS the point of hanging onto these things?  Perhaps it’s a security issue.  I just know that no sooner have I got rid of something, then it’s the very thing I want in a few days time.  I want to have this house nice and uncluttered for Christmas, I could be gone for some time….

Power to the Word!

To acquire a locupletative  (enriching ) word, why not adopt  one!  HERE  It’s free, it becomes your word  and you get a certificate too!

5 Responses to “Brown Paper Packages tied up with String, What Would William Morris say?”

  1. Awesome post.
    i don’t have problems wit hoarding because i just dont buy things unless they have a real purpose

  2. Ah but they DO have a purpose originally….. at least thats what I tell myself at the time, Over time that purpose becomes kind of blurred, like I know there was a reason I bought them, but I can’t remember.. lol!
    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I’m not much of a hoarder myself, but I do hang on to things that mean something to me, which I guess does make me a hoarder afterall. I tend to save cards that people send me. I’ve thought about maybe using them under glass on a coffee table. We have a collection of wine corks displayed that way…maybe a project for the winter.

  4. Yrs, I save cards too, still got all my 21st birhday cards, keys and even the heart shaped cake board – they’re now positiely antique! Sometimes I cut the less important Christmas cards up and use as gift tags. You can just pick the snowman or sometimes, obligingly, sometimes the scene will have a nice frame around it – ideal for a tag. See, I can be practical and thrifty after all! How about a scrap screen, like the Victorians used to have, that’ would be a good way of using up the cards, though the coffee table’s a good idea too.

Leave a Reply

