Weird and Wacky Design: Letting the Cat out of the Bag…

black-cat-handbag, lucky for some but not the cat

Yet more very odd handbags.  This one  reminds me of a book I read once called   ‘101 uses of a dead cat’.  Aw and I love cats too.  You can see why the book sprang to mind though can’t you?  I guess the zip or opening is in the stomach…. oh deary me!

dead cat by simon bond

Another strange one is this Owl handbag, it’s kind of cute really.  But  you know what they say – A bird in one hand is worth two in the bush…I’ll get my coat on now (and take my handbag with me…. lol!

owl-hand-bag

This handbag is called a Kazillion and it’s a vintage one, (being made of bakelite).  I’m quite nostalgic where bakelite is concerned.  It was one of the first plastics  and you can still pick up items made from it.

vintage bakelite handbag

Funkytrend website where owl and cat handbag came from HERE

7 Responses to “Weird and Wacky Design: Letting the Cat out of the Bag…”

  1. Aw! My husband thought that book was funny too…he bought it me many years ago (just remembered the other day) He said it was the first thing he ever bought me. The romance just goes on and on doesn’t it.. ….. Reader, I married him!

  2. piningforthewest Says:

    One of the first things which my husband bought me was a Margeurite Patten cookery book! He was obviously thinking that things were beginning to get serious and he wanted to make sure that I would be able to cook. Nowadays a girl would probably run a mile but reader I married him. I was the ripe old age of 17 and 6 weeks. Mad or what?

  3. Oh Bless! How sweet is that (marrying at 17…and still being together!) I like his style about the Marguirite Patten book lol! That woman was a wonder in the War. I have a recipe I think by her. It’s for ‘Mock ‘Something, can’t remember what. All I know is that it was a big load of stuff that you shaped into the ‘form’ of this creature, lol! That woman was a survivor! You know, I’m sure she is still going, saw her on TV not too long ago

  4. piningforthewest Says:

    She is still going strong, she must be really old but is still looking good. I got a book of her wartime recipes from the Imperial War Museum. All mock stuff and a fish called snook. They had a better diet than us though although deadly boring. Yes married over 33 years, can’t believe it. People either don’t bother getting married now or they are really enthusiastic about it. I know someone who is getting married for the fourth time soon. Very optimistic.

  5. I got my Wartime recipe book from Past Times. I used to love those shops, sadly they’ve gone out of business. You see the odd one, but they are usually selling bits of surplus stock mixed with unrelated stuff. 33 years eh! fantastic! A person very close to me has been married 5 times! I guess she must like wedding cake. Once is enough for me, I’m afraid.

  6. I read that book when I was younger. It was one of the only books at my dad’s house that was at least verging on suitable.

    I think it makes a lovely gift for a sweetheart. It certainly seemed to work for you 🙂

  7. Lol! Still got that book somewhere, what an original gift eh – beats a box of chocolates…….. well probably not
    Thanks for joing in Lynsey May!

Leave a Reply

