Ingoldsby Legends: Licensed to Thrill!

The Ingoldsby Legends

The Ingoldsby Legends

An early memory of mine is reading the Ingoldsby Legends by Thomas Ingoldsby of Tappington Manor (aka Rev, Richard H. Barham).  This thick heavy book was bought second hand from somewhere and I’m not too sure if I’ve still got a version of it around.   This book always seemed to be shrouded in mystery, even though the verse and prose is ‘humerous’.  As children,we weren’t really supposed to read it the illustrations were considered far too frightening.

imagination is very powerful

imagination is very powerful

So we read it. ,,,, well gasped at the pictures And it was frightening! and we did have nightmares!  But the illustrations by Arthur Rackham  and George Cruickshank , amongst others, are haunting and quite enchanting…with just that hint of menace lol!  I don’t remember too much of the rhymes, (apart from the Jackdaw of Rheims) only the illustrations.  I don’t even know what has made me remember this (probably too much ‘Antiques Road show’ I suspect).  I had a lot of second hand books when I was growing up.  I only wish I had them all now, not only would I enjoy reading them again, I would be worth a fortune lol!

the dead drummer of salisbury plain illustration by george cruickshank

the dead drummer of salisbury plain illustration by george cruickshank

Read the Ingoldsby legends online HERE

Leave a Reply

