Weird and Whacky Design: There’s something Puzzling about Cruet sets…(and Fishy)

Well I don’t know what happened last night to WordPress, but try as I did, I could NOT get on here : frustratingly.  It seemed as if the site was down?   Anyway it’s working now,

I used to collect novelty cruets: I have several sets.  So I thought I’d try to find some whacky ones.  Here’s one I found earlier…MUCH earlier lol!

Carltonware cruet.  Mine is missing the mustard spoon and the base is a dark green

Carltonware cruet. Mine is missing the mustard spoon and the base is a dark green

I have this Carltonware one…but my spoon is missing.  There’s something so cute about these tomatoes, though the colour is a bit ambitious.  The only red tomatoes in our shops are a kind of ornagy red with tough skins, unless you buy the vine ones which are more expensive.  I digress…

Vintage silver penguin cruet set

Vintage silver penguin cruet set

These penguins are silver plated and cost over £1,000!  Seems a shame to use them doesn’t it?  I love the one with the little fish in his mouth.

rubiks-salt-pepper-mills...good job those condiments are just a twist away eh, or you could be all day!

This cruet set is a bit of a puzzle………. how interesting!  I thought at first glance that  you had to find the right combination before the salt and pepper came out…. whilst your dinner went cold!  But not to worry!  Those condimentss are just a twist away!

If you liked this post – there’s more where this came from!  Go to my home page and look in my Categories, click on ‘WEIRD AND WHACKY DESIGN’

3 Responses to “Weird and Whacky Design: There’s something Puzzling about Cruet sets…(and Fishy)”

  1. jane richardson Says:

    I wonder whether you might consider selling the silver penguin cruet set?

  2. Sorry Jane, but it’s not miine to sell (wish it was:) ) I’ve put a link to it now I’ve found where it’s from

  3. jane richardson Says:

    Thanks for trying.

Leave a Reply

