Teapots: Oil and Water and other Elements

 I came across a Teapot competition for 2008.  I’m not too sure who won, but I’ve picked  out some of my favorites!

teapot show 2008 Nancy Arkuss 'Sassy  Lady'

teapot show 2008 Nancy Arkuss 'Sassy Lady'

 

I love the movement and style of this teapot by Nancy Arkuss.  It reminds me of one of these veiled statues; –

The Sleep of Sorrow and the Dream of Joy by Raffaelle Monti 1861

The Sleep of Sorrow and the Dream of Joy by Raffaelle Monti 1861

 

Another one that captured my imagination is this one; –

Teapot show 2008  Sharon Bartmann'Oil for two' raku

 

 

 

Teapot show 2008 Sharon Bartmann'Oil for two' raku

I did a bit of raku at university and I must say, it is my favorite method of ceramic making.  Perhaps it’s because the procedure takes place outdoors that appeals..and the effects are random: cannot be calculated.  It is a method of working that involves all four elements (earth, wind, water and fire),  like a kind alchemy!

More of these fab pots tomorrow!

5 Responses to “Teapots: Oil and Water and other Elements”

  1. […] Continuing my pick of 2008 Teapot competition.  Part one is HERE.  More teapots I like very much are as follows; teapot show 2008 Joan Rasmussen Junkmans […]

  2. I wI, too, own a Nancy Arkuss teapot- “Elegant Lady ” which I love. It generates head turning and super positive comments from my guests. Her teapots are indeed unique and exciting.

    • Carolina! You are SO lucky!! Do you actually use it or do you just display it? I would be so tempted to show off with it…but I would be frightened of having an accident with it lol! Kind Regards Lynda

  3. Lynda. Actually, my “Elegant Lady” is not a teapot, but a pitcher form, 22” tall which could be used for very tall flowers. If flowers are not real tall, the proportions are wrong. I think, however, her pieces stand extremely well on their own. My “Elegant Lady” is on a pedestal with museum putty. If you have small children running around, just don’t put on a coffee table and you should be fine!

    • Caroline, I am sure that your ‘Elegant Lady’ will become an antique of the future. I bet this artist becomes highly collectable. Even if she doesn’t, the pieces are lovely for their own sake. A pedestal sounds like the ideal place to display this lady: Out of reach from tiny hands eh….lol!

Leave a Reply

