Dear Reader I read it: ‘Daphne’ by Justine Picardie and ‘Christ the Lord, out of Egypt’ by Anne Rice

christ the lord by Anne Rice

christ the lord by Anne Rice

Hhehe, this is not quite true, but  I have nearly finished Anne Rice’s ‘ Christ the Lord,  Out of Egypt’ and I’ve just started ‘Daphne’by Justine Picardie.  ‘Daphne’ promises to be a good read already, judging from the first few pages I have read.

'daphne' by justine picardie, looks to be a promising read

 

'daphne' by justine picardie, looks to be a promising read

The Anne Rice book is a strange one though.  I have read most of her books.  This one heralds her return back to her faith.  It is a fabulous book, featuring all Rice’s storytelling skills and painstaking research, it’s only the subject matter which has changed!  I am loving the child Jesus and where he fits into this very Jewish  family so far…..

4 Responses to “Dear Reader I read it: ‘Daphne’ by Justine Picardie and ‘Christ the Lord, out of Egypt’ by Anne Rice”

  1. I was curiouse about the Anne Rice book ,I have read the vampire chronicles trilogy and its got a strange attitude to christianity,,the auther seems to be a christian yet they are strange books for a christian to write in other respects ,I really enjoyed them as a christian its great to read something gothic and dark that wasnt anti religouse.I really enjoyed them ,,I did hear that she wrote them after her young daughter died ,hence the young vampire Claudia and the woman Madeline ,,but I never had it confirmed

  2. The ‘Christ the Lord out of Egypt’ is about Christ and his family – a real departure from her other books. Loved the Vampire books but also her Mayfair witch books too. Rice has known tragedy when she lost her daughter to leukemia in 1972 and nearly died a couple of times herself. She has retuned to Roman Catholicism. Love her writing!

  3. I didnt know about the Witch books ,,I must try to find them,I love her books too

    • I met her once when she came for a booksigning to Manchester (Waterstones). I had seen a very old haunted mansion in the Louisiana swamps on TV and I asked her if that was the house featured in the Mayfair witches book. She said No, – the house was her own house where strange things happen!

Leave a Reply

