Read Recently: ‘Evil Spirits’ the Life of Oliver Read by Cliff Goodwin

evil-spirits-oliver-read

evil-spirits-oliver-read

I read a lot.  I always have a couple of books on the go.  I can’t get to sleep before reading a few pages.  I find it relaxes me.  I have just finished ‘Evil Spirit’ The Life of Oliver Reed.  I really enjoyed this book: I’ve always thought that Reed was much underated as an actor. 

a young oliver reed

a young oliver reed

 Reed comes across as a rather sensitive, misunderstood man with a lot of good qualities.  His main trouble was that he liked a drink too much and people just began to associate him with the outrageous behaviour which came out when he was drunk.  He seems to have played up to the Hellraiser image that he had created for himself.  Indeed, it seemed that he almost didn’t like to ‘disappoint’ people by not playing up: sometimes pretending to be drunker than he already was!

oliver-reed as Bill sykes in 'oliver'

oliver-reed as Bill sykes in 'oliver'

 This is a very  good read, and well written by Cliff Goodwin.  Reed’s films are written about in detail -I never realised he had made so many! (over a hundred).

Reed's last role was in  gladiator.  He made over a hundred movies
Reed’s last role was in gladiator. He made over a hundred movies

I bought this book in a public house (of all places) and am glad I did, (glad about the public house and glad I bought the book!)  I think the book is very fair and even in assessing Reeds actual character: it neither praises overly or condemns, just reports in an engaging style.

4 Responses to “Read Recently: ‘Evil Spirits’ the Life of Oliver Read by Cliff Goodwin”

  1. […] My review of the Oliver Reed book ‘Evil Spirits’ […]

  2. i like him hes such a good actor in oliver im woching my dvd now me and my friend lucy fancy dodger

  3. […] Oliver! echostains.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

