York Break: Haworth still Wuthering after all these years

haworth-parsonage-and-graveyard witmess to much grief

haworth-parsonage-and-graveyard witmess to much grief

On the way back from our York break, we called in at  Haworth, the Yorkshire village famous for it’s association with the Bronte’s. 

haworth-church-lasting-memorial

haworth-church-lasting-memorial

 There was a time when we used to go once or twice a year, but this was the first time we had been in 3 years.  Nothing had changed.  Perhaps a few new shops and one old favorite sadly, shutting down.

haworth-graveyard on a sunny day

haworth-graveyard on a sunny day

I decided to go in the Bronte Parsonage Museum.  Again, it was years since I had been inside and there were some changes.  More exhibits for a start!  I must have spent a good hour and half in there.

haworth-apothecary-window a wonderland of bygone products

haworth-apothecary-window a wonderland of bygone products

 

I am a huge Bronte fan.  My favorite Bronte’s are Charlotte and Branwell, though my favorite Bronte book is ‘Wuthering Heights’ by Emily.  Branwell Bronte fascinates me.  There are so many stories concerning him.  It seems the darker he is painted, the brighter his sisters shine……..suspiciously.

haworth-still-the-same

haworth-still-the-same

There were costumes in the museum, worn in the new productin of ‘Wuthering Heights’.  I only hope it’s nothing like the Keira Knightly ‘Pride and Prejudice’……  What a massive disappointment that was. The Bennett’s lived on what looked like a farm, Darcy was downright silly, and as for Wickham (‘who everyone praised to the sky’) and who plays an integral part in the ‘pride’ and ‘prejudice’ of Lizzie and Darcy – well, I think he was seen for approximately two minutes.  Why do they bother?  These type of stories cannot be improved on by sexing them up… when will they learn, it’s what is NOT shown, but which is imagined that has made these stories last so long.

lizzie-and-darcy the bbc version and in my opinion the very best

lizzie-and-darcy the bbc version and in my opinion the very best

 

More of my posts about my York break;

The Haunted House on Stonegate York

Here’s the rest of the journey

https://echostains.wordpress.com/2009/04/26/york-break-a-brief-summary/

7 Responses to “York Break: Haworth still Wuthering after all these years”

  1. I hope you’ll like the new Wuthering Heights. I am very impressed with Tom Hardy as Heathcliff. Let me know what you think when you see it. Thanks for the information as well as the pictures. I was searching the Bronte Blog when I came upon your blog. I would love to see these places in person but am glad that I can see them via the internet. Have a wonderful day!

  2. I am visiting the UK in early June and Haworth is one of the stops (aka pilgrimages) we are making. It even beat out Chawton, which I have still never visited, but the Yorkshire moors and Haworth won out over the more sedate south.

    Since you like Branwell also, you might consider Daphne, by Justine Picardie. It’s a fictionalized account of Daphne du Maurier’s research when she was working on The Infernal World of Branwell Bronte, and I thought it quite good.

    • Hi JaneGS! I hope Haworth lives up to your expectations in June (sure it will though). Thanks for your comments and the Justine Picardie suggestions which I havn’t read, but shall now be reading: Du Maurier is another favorite of mine. I have read the Infernal World of Branwell Bronte and rate it as a fairer picture of Branwell. Just been on your blog and am really enjoying it!

  3. […] York Break: Haworth still Wuthering after all these years Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)York Break: Haworth still Wuthering after all these yearsRecently read: ‘The Bronte’s Haworth’ The place and the people the Br…Bad boys past and present […]

  4. […] York Break: Haworth still wuthering after all these years […]

Leave a Reply

