Art I LOVE! Andreas Gursky – GO BIG!

99 per cent gursky-1999

99 per cent gursky-1999

I love the photography of German Photographer Andreas Gursky (b. 1955).  I particularly like his methodical approach and ordered way with these huge images.  Gursky now uses digitally enhances and edits his pictures (and why not?).

andreas-gursky-cocoon-11

andreas-gursky-cocoon-11

When I first started life drawing, I was a bit embarrassed and my drawings would be tiny, almost furtive!  I was told repeatedly to GO BIG!!!!! and as the embarrassment lessened, I did!

gursky-chicago-board-of-trade-1999

gursky-chicago-board-of-trade-1999

 Some of Gursky’s pictures are 10 ft wide and 8 ft high!  Now that really is going BIG isn’t it!   Gursky takes an almost dispassionate point of view regarding his work,(in the orderliness, I mean) and YET  there is a lot of life going on in these pictures that  makes these large scale images expose a synergy and symmetry that wouldn’t otherwise be seen.

gursky-parliament-1998

gursky-parliament-1998

The relationships between man and his landscape which underpins his work shows an abstract quality which also attracts me.

gursky_hongkong_stock-exchange-1994

gursky_hongkong_stock-exchange-1994

 

gurskyaatlanta-1996

gurskyaatlanta-1996

 

gursky_pyongyang-2007

gursky_pyongyang-2007

 

Here  are two very different photographers;

Frank Meadowcroft Sutcliffe

Pentti Sammallahti

2 Responses to “Art I LOVE! Andreas Gursky – GO BIG!”

  1. […] Andreas Gursky photographer/artist […]

Leave a Reply

