Valentine? Where art thou? and WHY?

valentines-day-red-party-for-two-people

valentines-day-red-party-for-two-people

I blame that St Valentine for pushing great expectations up.  It’s all his fault when women don’t get valentine cards because they either have no partner or their partner forgets.  The arguements that have kicked off because people haven’t bothered or have genuininly forgot to get their other half a card must be great. 

 

something-for-the-girl-with-everything

something-for-the-girl-with-everything

 What I have noticed though is that everything has now turned red.   Cupid is now a red devil, with pitchfork, oh and there’s loads of red  underwear all over the shops. Romantic?  Why is this?

valentineanddisciples

valentineanddisciples

Apparently there were a few of these martyred saints called Valentine, but not much is known about the one whose Feast day it is today and who was buried in Rome also on this day.  The date was also used to honour Juno, Queeen of the Roman Gods and Goddesses.  She was the Goddess of marriage  and women.  The following day, 15th the Feast of Lupacalia would begin.   Not sure what went on at that Feast but it sounds more  like it.

roman-goddess-juno
roman-goddess-juno

Curl your locks as I do mine…..

Two before and three behind

Good morning to you valentine

This charming little song was sung by little children dressed as adults on Valentines day as they went from home to home.  They’d have their work cut out with my curls……

valentine-gifts-fluffy-kind

valentine-gifts-fluffy-kind

When we were out shopping before (I’m writing this on Friday 13th), my husband and I looked at each other and I said ‘Are we bothering with a card this year?’  He said ‘Why bother? we love each other don’t we? we don’t need a card to show it.’  And I thought, yes, that’s exactly right!  I’m not saying we’ll never bother again, because I know we will, but for this year anyway, it just feels right.

PS Just had a look at this post 15th Feb: WHY have the letters come out HUGE???  Getting a little sick of this happening, keep editing and it still happens!

2 Responses to “Valentine? Where art thou? and WHY?”

  1. Mary Harrington Says:

    Could I have permission to use your picture of Juno in a Latin textbook I am writing? Thanking you in advance, hopefully.

    • Sorry Mary, this post was written ages ago before I got the hang of it, so I don’t know where I got the image from. I now site and acredit my post images 🙂
      I’ve just had a look for you but I can’t find that image or the link. I did find this one and its similar – hope it helps
      http://tinyurl.com/6c4vazn

Leave a Reply

