Friday 13th? What a load of rubbish…touch wood..

friday13th

friday13th

It’s Friday 13th today, but I’m writing this on the 12th (just to be on the safe side) this p.c. is temperamental at the best of times.  Not that I’m superstitious you understand….  Oh no, I’ve evolved more than that you know.  The lifetimes I’ve LIVED, let me tell you!  I mean, what a load of rubbish this superstitious business is really……. 

unlucky for some

unlucky for some

 Oh no I will be looking out for those lucky black cats, lucky for me and lucky for the cat (because I like em).  I may even have been one in a past life, who knows.  Apparently the black cat superstition goes back to its association with witches….seems familiar…

loki-the-mischievious-god-himself

loki-the-mischievious-god-himself

The number 13 though, as well as the Last Supper association, comes form the old Norse mythology, about Loki the thirteenth God,  unwanted guest who got even by slaying another guest.  You would cry too if it happened to you – well wouldn’t you?  There are loads of superstitions associated with Friday 13th, including Eve tempting Adam with an apple, (men were so easily tempted in those days).

sigmar-polke-treehouse-1976

sigmar-polke-treehouse-1976

I have wracked my brains trying to find an artist who was very superstitious..in the end I thought what about a birthday then?  A bit of Googling showed Sigmar Polke German Pop artist ( b.1941)  an important modern German artist whose paintings were many layered.(above)

american gothic-grant-wood

american gothic-grant-wood

But the main man Grant Wood, very very very famous Regionist artist was also born on this day.  His iconic work ‘American Gothic’ told the tale of the Midwestern farmer trying to keep a sober head above water.  I love this image! …and just KNEW that everything would be alright if I posted it..not that I’m superstitious…

One Response to “Friday 13th? What a load of rubbish…touch wood..”

  1. […] And another thing, WHY is there yet again another Friday 13th? […]

Leave a Reply

