Last Orders? I’m Not calling a Joey Holt’s to it!

working mans int and lets not kid ourselves

working mans int and lets not kid ourselves

My God!  I’ve been out and I’ve just come back and the Demon smoke is after me, and yes I’ve had a few! No demons are following this fine ship, only dolphins……

Beermat of the Joey type

Beermat of the Joey type

What are ‘they’ actually trying to do?  Don’t get me wrong, it’s great to go into a pub as an ex smoker.  The Holt’s pubs seem to have done great here.  They have stuck to the tenet of the ‘Working man’s pint’…only there IS no working man any more….That hasn’t stopped them.  Smoking and drinking and the working man go hand in hand.  All the Holt’s (as in Joseph Holt) have smoking rooms outside.  They are doing OK.  They also offer curry nights, pizza nights and other cheap nights out.  Sitting there tonight  in quite a few different Holt  pubs, I was aware that the mixture of people mostly consisted of 60s and 20s age groups.  Me and hubby are in the middle of course.  But it’s nice to know that this tradition shall still go on, and that some things never change.

Leave a Reply

