Good old days are here already, and I’m not ready

Those short skirted days...

Those short skirted days...

When I was young (I always swore I’d NEVER start a sentence with that…). I always used to wonder why ‘old’ people went about with hats, scarves and coats with  turned up collars .  I was never cold.  We would go out in the snow with tights and heels on, and short skirts.  We didn’t care!  It was fashion. 

 People used to say we would get chilblains (never did find out what those were).  You did used to see women with ‘corned beef’ legs though.  I think this was because they stood warming their asses by  the coal fires.  I love a coal fire and am lucky enough to still have one.  The rubbish we burn on that fire, makes me wonder why we did away with them.  Then I remember: pollution wasn’t it?  They were the days of REAL bin men.  Binmen who used to heave a heavy aluminium bin on their backs.  They just wore old clothes, not special protective gloves etc. But then again, they didn’t need to did they?   The only stuff  in the bin was tin cans and anything that couldn’t be burned on the fire.  Even soot went into the garden.  Vegetable peelings went into the fire or the compost.

I’ve just re read this..and it sounds like I am talking about war time!!  I’m not though.  I was about to say, I ‘m only talking about the 60’s and 70’s, then it struck me just how long ago they actually were!!

I used to laugh and feel my eyes glazing over when ‘old’ people mentioned ‘the good old days’.  Now I’m doing it myself.  It is better to do it on a blog though, you can’t actually SEE the eyes glazing over!

http://www.fashion-era.com/the_1960s_mini.htm#Fifties%20Fashion%20Hangs%20On%20Until%201966

Leave a Reply

